The Rat Pack Preview…..Shanelle Gabriel as Billie Holiday

I have been infatuated with the entire 60’s era of Men wearing tux’s and Women dressing their in their finest and wearing pearls to dinner. The entire mood of fashion and life was A LOT different. Pop culture had the type of vibe where stars and entertainers were actual stars and not someone who decided to hire an agent because they made a sex tape and had it was leaked on the internet. There were no such thing as “reality” TV stars. Most actors and actresses were triple threats (sing, act and dance). Fast forward and you will be lucky to find someone who can act let alone any of the other 2.
shanelle01bwpreview
So my ode to the 60’s began with Billie Holiday. Looking around my friends and associates I immediately saw that Shanelle Gabriel fit the mood and was willing to do the shoot (thank you so much!!!). As I continue on this ode to the 60’s (Indelible yall are up next! Get yah Tux’s right lol) I dive much deeper into an era I had no part in but appreciate from an artistic perspective. With that said Jo Jo/Nemesis we have A LOT of work to do!!!

You may ask “Wait Billie Holiday was in the Rat Pack?” unofficially no but she did a great deal of shows, songs and “other” stuff with them. PEace

*side note. If anyone is interested in being a part of this idea of mine please hit me up. I would love to incorporate as much talented folks to be characters in this idea I have.

~ by thedjprototype on June 3, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Rat Pack Preview…..Shanelle Gabriel as Billie Holiday”

  1. I absolutely agree with your opinion on pop culture vs. the 60s. I also LOVE this picture to pieces. I wish I lived closer because I would love to be a part of this. Keep up the good work!

  2. Thank you Tay. It is much appreciated. you I would get you down with this project if we lived closer to each other.

  3. Pro, you already know what time it is. The principles are being assembled. It is about to be ON.

    — The other Pro

Leave a Reply

 
